Luzé : Former Bois-Aubry Abbey
Indre-et-LoireReference
PA00097853
Latitude
47.00960289
Longitude
0.48693402
Address
5001 Bois Aubry 37120 Luzé
Construction era
12e siècle;15e siècle
Protection date
1944/01/15 : classé MH
Protection cause
Abbaye de Bois-Aubry (ancienne) : classement par arrêté du 15 janvier 1944
Description
The Benedictine Abbey was founded in the 12th century and underwent several modifications in the 15th century. It was abandoned during the Revolution and partially destroyed at the beginning of the 19th century. There remains the church and, south of it, extending the south arm of the transept, a building with the chapter room on the ground floor and the dormitory upstairs. The church, which retains old parts with windows of origin on the side walls of the nave, was rebuilt and completed in the middle of the 12th century, but the first two spans of the nave were removed in the 15th century. The remains of the old facade are still visible in front of the current facade. The vaults are based on capitals decorated with plant patterns. A narrow 15th century gallery, serving as a secretorium, is backed by the western wall of the nave, while the tribune which surmounted it disappeared. East of the transept, there are two chapels with a flat bedside dating from the 13th century. The bell tower, built in the 15th century, is at the northern end of the transept. The building perpendicular to the church, which extends the south arm of the transept, houses the chapter room on the ground floor, which opens to the west on the old destroyed cloister. To the west, there is also the hotel industry, which includes a large room with fireplace on the ground floor and an old dormitory upstairs.