Montbrison : Commanderie de Saint-Jean-des-Prés
LoireReference
PA00117692
Latitude
45.60753723
Longitude
4.06972778
Address
11 B Impasse de la Commanderie 42600 Montbrison
Construction era
12e siècle;14e siècle;15e siècle
Protection date
1990/12/20 : inscrit MH partiellement
Protection cause
Eglise (cad. BL 36) : inscription par arrêté du 20 décembre 1990
Description
The commandery of Saint-Jean-des-Prés, linked to the order of the Hospitallers of Saint-Jean de Jerusalem, was established in 1154. The only building still in existence is the church, which presents a Romanesque nave dating from the 12th century and a choir of the 14th and 15th centuries, transformed into housing on three levels in the 19th century. The vault was replaced by a wooden structure in the 17th century. Today, the church is no longer used. The 15th century convent buildings were destroyed in 1970.